The Casbah

The White Stripes, Smashing Pumpkins, Nirvana, Weezer, the Cult, Modest Mouse, and countless more indie rockers have played the stage with the padded walls that, in truth, came from an ice cream parlor. Owners Tim Mays and Bob Bennett essentially bought the interior furnishings of a Farrell’s Ice Cream when it folded. The stuff became the new decor for the original Casbah, which opened in 1989 at 2812 Kettner. In its present 220+ capacity location since 1994, the iconic stage backdrop has been replaced at least once. But the question remains: does that padding help cut the noise any for the tenants in the airport view apartments perched over the night club?

Upcoming Events

  • Shane Hall and Jesse Nova

    Tuesday, September 18, 8:00 p.m.

  • Justin Linn & the Rotation

    Wednesday, September 19, 8:00 p.m.

  • Yungblud

    Thursday, September 20, 8:00 p.m.

  • Island

    Friday, September 21, 6:00 p.m.

  • Girls Girls Girls and DJ Lizeth

    Friday, September 21, 10:00 p.m.

  • Schizophonics Soul Revue

    Saturday, September 22, 8:00 p.m.

  • Eleanor Friedberger

    Sunday, September 23, 8:00 p.m.

  • Well Well Well, Yuno, Bruin

    Monday, September 24, 8:00 p.m.

  • Lincoln Durham

    Tuesday, September 25, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Boxer Rebellion

    Wednesday, September 26, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Divine Horsemen

    Thursday, September 27, 8:00 p.m.

  • Miss New Buddha and Omega Three

    Thursday, September 27, 8:00 p.m.

  • Jay Aston's Gene Loves Jezebel

    Friday, September 28, 8:00 p.m.

  • Little Hurricane and Trouble in the Wind

    Saturday, September 29, 8:00 p.m.

  • Natalie Prass and Stella Donnelly

    Sunday, September 30, 8:00 p.m.

  • Dale Watson & His Lonestars

    Tuesday, October 2, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Coronas

    Wednesday, October 3, 8:00 p.m.

  • Death Valley Girls and Roky Erickson

    Friday, October 5, 8:00 p.m.

  • Vinyl Junkies Record Swap

    Saturday, October 6, 11:00 a.m.

  • Shonen Knife and Creepseed

    Saturday, October 6, 8:00 p.m.

  • Grieves and Greater Than

    Sunday, October 7, 8:00 p.m.

  • Lawrence

    Tuesday, October 9, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Twilight Sad

    Wednesday, October 10, 8:00 p.m.

  • Dream Wife

    Friday, October 12, 8:00 p.m.

  • Screaming Females and Kitten Forever

    Saturday, October 13, 8:00 p.m.

  • Marissa Nadler

    Sunday, October 14, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Dodos

    Monday, October 15, 8:00 p.m.

  • Dizzy and SYML

    Tuesday, October 16, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Joy Formidable

    Wednesday, October 17, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Silent Comedy and Creature Canyon

    Friday, October 19, 8:00 p.m.

  • Michael Nau & the Mighty Thread

    Saturday, October 20, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Magic Numbers and Gospelbeach

    Monday, October 22, 8:00 p.m.

  • Deap Vally

    Tuesday, October 23, 8:00 p.m.

  • Saintseneca

    Wednesday, October 24, 8:00 p.m.

  • Cleopatrick

    Thursday, October 25, 8:00 p.m.

  • Vernon Reid's Band of Gypsies Revisited

    Friday, October 26, 8:00 p.m.

  • Mac Sabbath

    Monday, October 29, 8:00 p.m.

  • Still Corners

    Tuesday, October 30, 8:00 p.m.

  • Cloud Nothings and Tiger Hatchery

    Thursday, November 1, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Selecter and the English Beat

    Friday, November 2, 8:00 p.m.

  • Clan Of Xymox

    Saturday, November 3, 8:00 p.m.

  • William Clark Green and Flatland Cavalry

    Sunday, November 4, 8:00 p.m.

  • Kuinka and Jesse LaMonaca & the Dime Novels

    Thursday, November 8, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Mowgli’s and Arms Akimbo

    Friday, November 9, 8:00 p.m.

  • All Them Witches and Handsome Jack

    Saturday, November 10, 8:00 p.m.

  • Tacocat and Black Belt Eagle Scout

    Monday, November 12, 8:00 p.m.

  • Ural Thomas & the Pain

    Tuesday, November 13, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Selecter and the English Beat

    Wednesday, November 14, 8:00 p.m.

  • Tokyo Police Club and Fleece

    Friday, November 16, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Helio Sequence

    Saturday, November 17, 8:00 p.m.

  • Southern Culture on the Skids

    Sunday, November 18, 8:00 p.m.

  • Steady Holiday

    Monday, November 19, 8:00 p.m.

  • How To Dress Well

    Tuesday, November 27, 8:00 p.m.

  • El Ten Eleven

    Friday, November 30, 8:00 p.m.

  • El Ten Eleven

    Saturday, December 1, 8:00 p.m.

  • Justin Courtney Pierre and Thin Lips

    Sunday, December 2, 8:00 p.m.

  • Author & Punisher and Lingua Ignota

    Saturday, December 8, 8:00 p.m.

  • Bernhoft & The Fashion Bruises

    Wednesday, December 12, 8:00 p.m.

  • Fu Manchu

    Friday, December 14, 8:00 p.m.

  • Fu Manchu

    Saturday, December 15, 8:00 p.m.

  • JMSN

    Sunday, December 16, 8:00 p.m.

Related Links

Share / Tools

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • AddThis
  • Email
  • Pin it

Comments

Log in to comment

Skip Ad

Get $5 off any Reader event

Sign up for our email list to get your promo code

Close