The Casbah

The White Stripes, Smashing Pumpkins, Nirvana, Weezer, the Cult, Modest Mouse, and countless more indie rockers have played the stage with the padded walls that, in truth, came from an ice cream parlor. Owners Tim Mays and Bob Bennett essentially bought the interior furnishings of a Farrell’s Ice Cream when it folded. The stuff became the new decor for the original Casbah, which opened in 1989 at 2812 Kettner. In its present 220+ capacity location since 1994, the iconic stage backdrop has been replaced at least once. But the question remains: does that padding help cut the noise any for the tenants in the airport view apartments perched over the night club?

Upcoming Events

  • Jamila Woods

    Tuesday, June 18, 8:00 p.m.

  • James Supercave and Bay Ledges

    Wednesday, June 19, 8:00 p.m.

  • Bailen and Hailey Knox

    Thursday, June 20, 8:00 p.m.

  • Emo Nite

    Friday, June 21, 9:00 p.m.

  • Tacocat and the Paranoyds

    Sunday, June 23, 8:00 p.m.

  • DJ Artistic's Hip-Hop Battle Bot

    Monday, June 24, 8:00 p.m.

  • Silent and Hexa

    Tuesday, June 25, 8:00 p.m.

  • Mini Mansions

    Wednesday, June 26, 8:00 p.m.

  • Okkervil River

    Thursday, June 27, 8:00 p.m.

  • Charly Bliss

    Saturday, June 29, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Spits

    Monday, July 1, 8:00 p.m.

  • Alice Wallace

    Tuesday, July 2, 8:00 p.m.

  • One Nation Under a Groove

    Wednesday, July 3, 8:00 p.m.

  • Drug Hunt and Wild Wild Wets

    Friday, July 5, 8:00 p.m.

  • Earthless, Crypt Trip, Warish

    Saturday, July 6, 8:00 p.m.

  • Earthless, Salt Lick, Crypt Trip

    Sunday, July 7, 8:00 p.m.

  • Secret Fun Club and Tap & Die

    Tuesday, July 9, 8:00 p.m.

  • Vaya Futuro and Le Ra

    Wednesday, July 10, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Silent Comedy and Dead Feather Moon

    Friday, July 12, 8:00 p.m.

  • Spice Pistols and Skid Marks

    Saturday, July 13, 2:00 p.m.

  • Havnauts and Los Pinche Pinches

    Sunday, July 14, 8:00 p.m.

  • No Knife and Rob Crow

    Monday, July 15, 7:30 p.m.

  • Hiroshima Mockingbirds and the Lucy Ring

    Tuesday, July 16, 8:00 p.m.

  • Dylan LeBlanc

    Wednesday, July 17, 8:00 p.m.

  • Jagwar Twin

    Sunday, July 21, 8:00 p.m.

  • We Were Promised Jetpacks

    Monday, July 22, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Dropscience and Systems Officer

    Wednesday, July 24, 8:00 p.m.

  • Bob Log III and Deadbolt

    Thursday, July 25, 8:00 p.m.

  • AJ Froman and Demasiado

    Friday, July 26, 8:00 p.m.

  • Ric Scales and Real J. Wallace

    Sunday, July 28, 8:00 p.m.

  • Everything Is Terrible

    Wednesday, July 31, 8:00 p.m.

  • William Clark Green

    Thursday, August 1, 8:00 p.m.

  • Mystic Braves

    Friday, August 2, 8:00 p.m.

  • A.A. Bondy

    Saturday, August 3, 8:00 p.m.

  • Hannah Wicklund & the Steppin Stones

    Wednesday, August 7, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Surfrajettes and Jason Lee

    Thursday, August 8, 8:00 p.m.

  • Redwoods Revue

    Friday, August 9, 8:00 p.m.

  • Lost Dog Street Band

    Saturday, August 10, 8:00 p.m.

  • Orville Peck

    Thursday, August 15, 8:00 p.m.

  • Big Business

    Friday, August 16, 8:00 p.m.

  • Boris

    Monday, August 19, 8:00 p.m.

  • Generationals

    Tuesday, August 20, 8:00 p.m.

  • Man Or Astro-Man? and Human Beat

    Sunday, August 25, 8:00 p.m.

  • Howlin Rain and Pacific Range

    Tuesday, August 27, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Bird and the Bee

    Thursday, August 29, 8:00 p.m.

  • Sacri Monti, Volcano, Warish

    Friday, August 30, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Young Wild and Creature Canyon

    Saturday, August 31, 8:00 p.m.

  • Melvins and Redd Kross

    Tuesday, September 3, 8:00 p.m.

  • Bleached

    Thursday, September 5, 8:00 p.m.

  • Aesthetic Perfection and Empathy Test

    Friday, September 6, 8:00 p.m.

  • Olivia Gatwood

    Tuesday, September 10, 8:00 p.m.

  • Ex Hex

    Sunday, September 15, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Selecter

    Wednesday, September 18, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Selecter

    Thursday, September 19, 8:00 p.m.

  • Blackalicious and Elephants in the Room

    Tuesday, September 24, 8:00 p.m.

  • Half Moon Run

    Friday, September 27, 8:00 p.m.

  • TWRP and Rich Aucoin

    Monday, September 30, 8:00 p.m.

  • Fruit Bats

    Thursday, October 3, 7:30 p.m.

  • Hiss Golden Messenger

    Friday, October 4, 8:00 p.m.

  • Built To Spill

    Tuesday, November 12, 8:00 p.m.

  • Built To Spill

    Wednesday, November 13, 8:00 p.m.

  • Built To Spill

    Thursday, November 14, 8:00 p.m.

  • Mikal Cronin

    Sunday, December 1, 8:00 p.m.

  • Magic Sword

    Friday, December 6, 8:00 p.m.

Related Links

Share / Tools

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • AddThis
  • Email
  • Pin it

Comments

Log in to comment

Skip Ad