The Casbah

The White Stripes, Smashing Pumpkins, Nirvana, Weezer, the Cult, Modest Mouse, and countless more indie rockers have played the stage with the padded walls that, in truth, came from an ice cream parlor. Owners Tim Mays and Bob Bennett essentially bought the interior furnishings of a Farrell’s Ice Cream when it folded. The stuff became the new decor for the original Casbah, which opened in 1989 at 2812 Kettner. In its present 220+ capacity location since 1994, the iconic stage backdrop has been replaced at least once. But the question remains: does that padding help cut the noise any for the tenants in the airport view apartments perched over the night club?

Upcoming Events

  • Bernhoft & The Fashion Bruises

    Wednesday, December 12, 8:00 p.m.

  • Thumpasaurus

    Thursday, December 13, 8:00 p.m.

  • Fu Manchu

    Friday, December 14, 8:00 p.m.

  • Fu Manchu

    Saturday, December 15, 8:00 p.m.

  • JMSN

    Sunday, December 16, 8:00 p.m.

  • Ariel Levine and Aviator Stash

    Wednesday, December 19, 8:00 p.m.

  • Ziggy Shuffledust and Electric Warrior

    Thursday, December 20, 8:00 p.m.

  • Black Friday

    Friday, December 21, 8:00 p.m.

  • Dirty Sweet and Band of Gringos

    Saturday, December 22, 8:00 p.m.

  • El Vez: Merry Mexmas

    Sunday, December 23, 7:30 p.m.

  • Exile on Kettner Blvd.

    Monday, December 24, 8:00 p.m.

  • Hail Hail and Razor Nights

    Thursday, December 27, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Paladins and Big Sandy & His Flyrite Boys

    Friday, December 28, 8:00 p.m.

  • Get Back Loretta and the Heavy Guilt

    Saturday, December 29, 8:00 p.m.

  • Hot Snakes

    Friday, January 4, 8:00 p.m.

  • Chinchilla and Uncle Joe's Big Ol' Driver

    Saturday, January 5, 8:00 p.m.

  • T.S.O.L.

    Sunday, January 6, 8:00 p.m.

  • Melvins and Dale Crover Band

    Wednesday, January 9, 8:00 p.m.

  • Melvins and Dale Crover Band

    Thursday, January 10, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Dragons and Drip Tank

    Friday, January 11, 8:00 p.m.

  • Howlin Rain and Monarch

    Wednesday, January 16, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Donkeys

    Thursday, January 17, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Penetrators

    Friday, January 18, 8:00 p.m.

  • Adolescents

    Saturday, January 19, 8:00 p.m.

  • Mustard Plug and the Phenomenauts

    Sunday, January 20, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Districts and Deeper

    Monday, January 21, 8:00 p.m.

  • Pinback and Swollen Brains

    Wednesday, January 23, 8:00 p.m.

  • Pinback and Montalban Quintet

    Thursday, January 24, 8:00 p.m.

  • Buck-O-Nine and the Downs Family

    Saturday, January 26, 8:00 p.m.

  • No Knife and Buckfast Superbee

    Sunday, January 27, 8:00 p.m.

  • Gary Heffern's Last Waltz

    Monday, January 28, 7:00 p.m.

  • Three Mile Pilot and the Dropscience

    Thursday, January 31, 8:00 p.m.

  • Mineral and Cursive

    Friday, February 1, 8:00 p.m.

  • Claire George and Drama

    Saturday, February 2, 8:00 p.m.

  • Alex Cameron & Roy Molloy

    Thursday, February 7, 8:00 p.m.

  • Steve Gunn

    Friday, February 8, 8:00 p.m.

  • Radar State

    Sunday, February 10, 8:00 p.m.

  • Broncho and Pinky Pinky

    Wednesday, February 13, 8:00 p.m.

  • Louis XIV

    Friday, February 15, 8:00 p.m.

  • Spear Of Destiny

    Wednesday, February 20, 8:00 p.m.

  • Kolars and Alex Lilly

    Thursday, February 21, 8:00 p.m.

  • King Tuff and Tropa Magica

    Friday, February 22, 8:00 p.m.

  • King Tuff and Paint

    Saturday, February 23, 8:00 p.m.

  • Adia Victoria

    Tuesday, March 5, 8:00 p.m.

  • Naked Giants and Twen

    Wednesday, March 6, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Bellrays and the Atom Age

    Thursday, March 7, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Coathangers and SadGirl

    Saturday, March 9, 8:00 p.m.

  • Durand Jones & the Indications

    Saturday, March 23, 8:00 p.m.

  • Arkells and Dear Rouge

    Sunday, March 24, 8:00 p.m.

  • Electric Six

    Thursday, March 28, 8:00 p.m.

  • Donna Missal

    Saturday, March 30, 8:00 p.m.

  • Girlpool and Hatchie

    Friday, April 5, 8:00 p.m.

  • Tender

    Saturday, April 6, 8:00 p.m.

  • TEN FÉ

    Sunday, April 7, 8:00 p.m.

  • Telekinesis and Sontalk

    Saturday, April 27, 8:00 p.m.

  • Aesthetic Perfection and Empathy Test

    Friday, September 6, 8:00 p.m.

Related Links

Share / Tools

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • AddThis
  • Email
  • Pin it

Comments

Log in to comment

Skip Ad
Close

Let’s Be Friends

Subscribe for local event alerts, concerts tickets, promotions and more from the San Diego Reader