The Casbah

The White Stripes, Smashing Pumpkins, Nirvana, Weezer, the Cult, Modest Mouse, and countless more indie rockers have played the stage with the padded walls that, in truth, came from an ice cream parlor. Owners Tim Mays and Bob Bennett essentially bought the interior furnishings of a Farrell’s Ice Cream when it folded. The stuff became the new decor for the original Casbah, which opened in 1989 at 2812 Kettner. In its present 220+ capacity location since 1994, the iconic stage backdrop has been replaced at least once. But the question remains: does that padding help cut the noise any for the tenants in the airport view apartments perched over the night club?

Upcoming Events

  • Spear Of Destiny

    Wednesday, February 20, 8:00 p.m.

  • Kolars and Alex Lilly

    Thursday, February 21, 8:00 p.m.

  • King Tuff and Tropa Magica

    Friday, February 22, 8:00 p.m.

  • King Tuff and Paint

    Saturday, February 23, 8:00 p.m.

  • MDRN HSTRY and Belladon

    Sunday, February 24, 8:00 p.m.

  • Graveyard Witch and Supra Summus

    Monday, February 25, 8:00 p.m.

  • DJ Artistic's Hip Hop Battle Bot

    Tuesday, February 26, 8:00 p.m.

  • Nights Like Thieves and Avenue Army

    Wednesday, February 27, 8:00 p.m.

  • Bob Mould

    Thursday, February 28, 8:00 p.m.

  • Junior Brown

    Friday, March 1, 8:00 p.m.

  • Transfer and Keuning

    Saturday, March 2, 8:00 p.m.

  • Julia Sage & the Bad Hombres

    Monday, March 4, 8:00 p.m.

  • Adia Victoria

    Tuesday, March 5, 8:00 p.m.

  • Naked Giants and Twen

    Wednesday, March 6, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Bellrays and the Atom Age

    Thursday, March 7, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Coathangers and SadGirl

    Saturday, March 9, 8:00 p.m.

  • Kate Berlant

    Sunday, March 10, 7:30 p.m.

  • Dead Feather Moon and Babydoll Warriors

    Monday, March 11, 8:00 p.m.

  • Cherry Pools and Tillie

    Tuesday, March 12, 8:00 p.m.

  • Emo Nite

    Friday, March 15, 9:00 p.m.

  • Moon Hooch

    Sunday, March 17, 8:00 p.m.

  • Plainwrecks and Eridia

    Monday, March 18, 8:00 p.m.

  • Boy Harsher and Boan

    Wednesday, March 20, 8:00 p.m.

  • Psychedelic Porn Crumpets

    Thursday, March 21, 8:00 p.m.

  • Veronica May and Ariel Levine

    Friday, March 22, 8:00 p.m.

  • Durand Jones & the Indications

    Saturday, March 23, 8:00 p.m.

  • Arkells and Dear Rouge

    Sunday, March 24, 8:00 p.m.

  • TWRP and Planet Booty

    Tuesday, March 26, 8:00 p.m.

  • Electric Six

    Thursday, March 28, 8:00 p.m.

  • Donna Missal

    Saturday, March 30, 8:00 p.m.

  • Girlpool and Hatchie

    Friday, April 5, 8:00 p.m.

  • Tender

    Saturday, April 6, 8:00 p.m.

  • TEN FÉ

    Sunday, April 7, 8:00 p.m.

  • Lincoln Durham

    Tuesday, April 9, 8:00 p.m.

  • J.S. Ondara

    Wednesday, April 10, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Messthetics and Craig Wedren

    Thursday, April 11, 8:00 p.m.

  • Baby Bushka: Kate Bush Dance Party

    Saturday, April 13, 8:00 p.m.

  • Flipper and David Yow

    Sunday, April 14, 8:00 p.m.

  • Iceage and Shame

    Tuesday, April 16, 8:00 p.m.

  • Lil Smokies

    Wednesday, April 17, 8:00 p.m.

  • Kero Kero Bonito

    Thursday, April 18, 8:00 p.m.

  • Night Beats and Cosmonauts

    Saturday, April 20, 8:00 p.m.

  • Mdou Moctar

    Sunday, April 21, 8:00 p.m.

  • Los Straitjackets

    Thursday, April 25, 8:00 p.m.

  • Telekinesis and Sontalk

    Saturday, April 27, 8:00 p.m.

  • Lauren Ruth Ward

    Saturday, May 4, 8:00 p.m.

  • Liz Cooper & the Stampede

    Wednesday, May 8, 8:00 p.m.

  • Bayonne

    Thursday, May 9, 8:00 p.m.

  • Foxing and Now Now

    Sunday, May 12, 8:00 p.m.

  • Shy Girls

    Thursday, May 16, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Lemonheads and Tommy Stinson

    Saturday, May 25, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Undertones and Mrs. Magician

    Wednesday, May 29, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Wild Reeds

    Thursday, June 6, 8:00 p.m.

  • Black Joe Lewis & The Honeybears

    Sunday, June 9, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Felice Brothers

    Sunday, June 16, 8:00 p.m.

  • Tacocat and the Paranoyds

    Sunday, June 23, 8:00 p.m.

  • Aesthetic Perfection and Empathy Test

    Friday, September 6, 8:00 p.m.

Related Links

Share / Tools

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • AddThis
  • Email
  • Pin it

Comments

Log in to comment

Skip Ad
Close

Let’s Be Friends

Subscribe for local event alerts, concerts tickets, promotions and more from the San Diego Reader