The Casbah

The White Stripes, Smashing Pumpkins, Nirvana, Weezer, the Cult, Modest Mouse, and countless more indie rockers have played the stage with the padded walls that, in truth, came from an ice cream parlor. Owners Tim Mays and Bob Bennett essentially bought the interior furnishings of a Farrell’s Ice Cream when it folded. The stuff became the new decor for the original Casbah, which opened in 1989 at 2812 Kettner. In its present 220+ capacity location since 1994, the iconic stage backdrop has been replaced at least once. But the question remains: does that padding help cut the noise any for the tenants in the airport view apartments perched over the night club?

Upcoming Events

  • Mdou Moctar

    Sunday, April 21, 8:00 p.m.

  • Ben Kweller and Mainman

    Monday, April 22, 8:00 p.m.

  • Lebanon Hanover

    Tuesday, April 23, 8:00 p.m.

  • Party Nails and Cannons

    Wednesday, April 24, 8:00 p.m.

  • Los Straitjackets

    Thursday, April 25, 8:00 p.m.

  • Surefire Soul Ensemble

    Friday, April 26, 8:00 p.m.

  • Telekinesis and Sontalk

    Saturday, April 27, 8:00 p.m.

  • Electric Mud and Shane Hall

    Sunday, April 28, 8:00 p.m.

  • Aunt Cynthia's Cabin and Desert Suns

    Monday, April 29, 8:00 p.m.

  • DJ Artistic's Hip Hop Battle Bot

    Tuesday, April 30, 9:00 p.m.

  • Body Salt and AJ Froman

    Wednesday, May 1, 8:00 p.m.

  • Evan Diamond and Almost Monday

    Thursday, May 2, 8:00 p.m.

  • El Vez and the Exbats

    Friday, May 3, 8:00 p.m.

  • Lauren Ruth Ward

    Saturday, May 4, 8:00 p.m.

  • Cumbia Machin and La Diabla

    Sunday, May 5, 7:30 p.m.

  • Part Time

    Monday, May 6, 8:00 p.m.

  • Phantom Planet

    Tuesday, May 7, 8:00 p.m.

  • Liz Cooper & the Stampede

    Wednesday, May 8, 8:00 p.m.

  • Bayonne

    Thursday, May 9, 8:00 p.m.

  • Black Marble and Second Still

    Friday, May 10, 8:00 p.m.

  • Xeno & Oaklander and SRSQ

    Saturday, May 11, 8:00 p.m.

  • Foxing and Now Now

    Sunday, May 12, 8:00 p.m.

  • Unhappy Hour and Stephen El Rey

    Monday, May 13, 8:00 p.m.

  • Carsie Blanton

    Tuesday, May 14, 8:00 p.m.

  • Shy Girls

    Thursday, May 16, 8:00 p.m.

  • Trouble in the Wind and Jonny Wagon

    Saturday, May 18, 8:00 p.m.

  • John Errol

    Monday, May 20, 8:00 p.m.

  • Geographer and Manatee Commune

    Tuesday, May 21, 8:00 p.m.

  • Dead Boys

    Wednesday, May 22, 8:00 p.m.

  • Teenage Bottlerocket and Nerf Herder

    Friday, May 24, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Lemonheads and Tommy Stinson

    Saturday, May 25, 8:00 p.m.

  • Booty Bassment

    Sunday, May 26, 9:00 p.m.

  • Howard Gelb

    Tuesday, May 28, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Undertones and Mrs. Magician

    Wednesday, May 29, 8:00 p.m.

  • Helms Alee

    Thursday, May 30, 8:00 p.m.

  • Author & Punisher and Xasthur

    Friday, May 31, 8:00 p.m.

  • Connan Mockasin

    Monday, June 3, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Skints

    Wednesday, June 5, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Wild Reeds

    Thursday, June 6, 8:00 p.m.

  • Sebadoh

    Friday, June 7, 8:00 p.m.

  • Taken by Canadians and Shane Hall

    Saturday, June 8, 8:00 p.m.

  • Black Joe Lewis & The Honeybears

    Sunday, June 9, 8:00 p.m.

  • Kid Congo & the Pink Monkey Birds

    Monday, June 10, 8:00 p.m.

  • Operators

    Friday, June 14, 8:00 p.m.

  • Diane Coffee

    Saturday, June 15, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Felice Brothers

    Sunday, June 16, 8:00 p.m.

  • Jamila Woods

    Tuesday, June 18, 8:00 p.m.

  • Bailen and Hailey Knox

    Thursday, June 20, 8:00 p.m.

  • Tacocat and the Paranoyds

    Sunday, June 23, 8:00 p.m.

  • Mini Mansions

    Wednesday, June 26, 8:00 p.m.

  • Okkervil River

    Thursday, June 27, 8:00 p.m.

  • Charly Bliss

    Saturday, June 29, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Spits

    Monday, July 1, 8:00 p.m.

  • Spice Pistols and Skid Marks

    Saturday, July 13, 2:00 p.m.

  • Dylan LeBlanc

    Wednesday, July 17, 8:00 p.m.

  • We Were Promised Jetpacks

    Monday, July 22, 8:00 p.m.

  • Bob Log III and Deadbolt

    Thursday, July 25, 8:00 p.m.

  • Everything Is Terrible

    Wednesday, July 31, 8:00 p.m.

  • Mystic Braves

    Friday, August 2, 8:00 p.m.

  • A.A. Bondy

    Saturday, August 3, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Surfrajettes and Jason Lee

    Thursday, August 8, 8:00 p.m.

  • Lost Dog Street Band

    Saturday, August 10, 8:00 p.m.

  • Aesthetic Perfection and Empathy Test

    Friday, September 6, 8:00 p.m.

  • Built To Spill

    Tuesday, November 12, 8:00 p.m.

  • Built To Spill

    Wednesday, November 13, 8:00 p.m.

  • Built To Spill

    Thursday, November 14, 8:00 p.m.

Related Links

Share / Tools

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • AddThis
  • Email
  • Pin it

Comments

Log in to comment

Skip Ad