The Casbah

The White Stripes, Smashing Pumpkins, Nirvana, Weezer, the Cult, Modest Mouse, and countless more indie rockers have played the stage with the padded walls that, in truth, came from an ice cream parlor. Owners Tim Mays and Bob Bennett essentially bought the interior furnishings of a Farrell’s Ice Cream when it folded. The stuff became the new decor for the original Casbah, which opened in 1989 at 2812 Kettner. In its present 220+ capacity location since 1994, the iconic stage backdrop has been replaced at least once. But the question remains: does that padding help cut the noise any for the tenants in the airport view apartments perched over the night club?

Upcoming Events

  • Hoops

    Tuesday, May 23, 8:00 p.m.

  • L.A. Takedown

    Thursday, May 25, 8:00 p.m.

  • Dream Joints, Vakoum, Hexa

    Friday, May 26, 8:00 p.m.

  • Shawn P. Rohlf, Jeff Berkley, Veronica May

    Saturday, May 27, 8:00 p.m.

  • Sam Outlaw and Michaela Anne

    Wednesday, May 31, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Young Wild and Ariel Levine

    Thursday, June 1, 8:00 p.m.

  • Nowhere Fast and Imaginary Boys

    Saturday, June 3, 8:00 p.m.

  • Rob Crow's Gloomy Place and Brokeback

    Sunday, June 4, 8:00 p.m.

  • Skating Polly

    Tuesday, June 6, 8:00 p.m.

  • Adult.

    Wednesday, June 7, 8:00 p.m.

  • Overcoats

    Thursday, June 8, 8:00 p.m.

  • JMSN

    Friday, June 9, 8:00 p.m.

  • Vinyl Junkies Record Swap: Lol Tolhurst, more

    Saturday, June 10, 11:00 a.m.

  • Earthless, Monarch, Flying Hair

    Saturday, June 10, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Builders & the Butchers

    Sunday, June 11, 8:00 p.m.

  • Robyn Hitchcock

    Tuesday, June 13, 8:00 p.m.

  • Circa Waves

    Wednesday, June 14, 8:00 p.m.

  • Guitar Wolf

    Friday, June 16, 8:00 p.m.

  • Evan Dando

    Saturday, June 17, 8:00 p.m.

  • Peewee Moore

    Tuesday, June 20, 8:00 p.m.

  • !!! (Chk Chk Chk)

    Wednesday, June 21, 8:00 p.m.

  • Chron Gen and Generators

    Thursday, June 22, 8:00 p.m.

  • Birdy Bardot and the Heavy Guilt

    Friday, June 23, 8:00 p.m.

  • Supersuckers

    Saturday, June 24, 8:00 p.m.

  • Dopapod

    Sunday, June 25, 8:00 p.m.

  • Day Wave and Blonder

    Tuesday, June 27, 8:00 p.m.

  • Silent, Hexa, Body Song

    Thursday, June 29, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Melvins and Spotlights

    Wednesday, July 5, 8:00 p.m.

  • Soft Lions and Big Bloom

    Thursday, July 6, 8:00 p.m.

  • Mutoid Man and Helms Alee

    Wednesday, July 12, 8:00 p.m.

  • Cymbals Eat Guitars and Palo Duro

    Sunday, July 16, 8:00 p.m.

  • Beach Fossils and She-Devils

    Thursday, July 20, 7:00 p.m.

  • Creature & the Woods and the Heavy Guilt

    Saturday, July 22, 8:00 p.m.

  • David J and Dani Bell & the Tarantist

    Thursday, July 27, 8:00 p.m.

  • Kitten

    Saturday, July 29, 8:00 p.m.

  • Tobin Sprout and Elf Power

    Monday, July 31, 8:00 p.m.

  • Unsane and Fashion Week

    Tuesday, August 1, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Paladins

    Saturday, August 5, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Delta Bombers and the Sleepwalkers

    Sunday, August 6, 8:00 p.m.

  • Six60

    Tuesday, August 8, 8:00 p.m.

  • Tyler Childers

    Wednesday, August 9, 8:00 p.m.

  • Nite Jewel and Geneva Jacuzzi

    Friday, August 11, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Ataris and the Queers

    Saturday, August 12, 8:00 p.m.

  • Dungen and Brainticket DJs

    Friday, August 18, 8:00 p.m.

  • Metalachi and the Fink Bombs

    Saturday, August 26, 8:00 p.m.

  • Carbon Leaf

    Tuesday, September 5, 7:30 p.m.

  • Marshall Crenshaw & Los Straitjackets

    Friday, September 8, 8:00 p.m.

  • Middle Kids

    Monday, October 2, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Woggles and Prima Donna

    Saturday, October 7, 8:00 p.m.

Related Links

Share / Tools

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • AddThis
  • Email
  • Pin it

Comments

Log in to comment

Skip Ad

SD Reader Newsletters

Join our newsletter list and enter to win a $25 gift card to The Broken Yolk Cafe!

Each subscription means another chance to win!

Close