Quantcast

The Casbah

The White Stripes, Smashing Pumpkins, Nirvana, Weezer, the Cult, Modest Mouse, and countless more indie rockers have played the stage with the padded walls that, in truth, came from an ice cream parlor. Owners Tim Mays and Bob Bennett essentially bought the interior furnishings of a Farrell’s Ice Cream when it folded. The stuff became the new decor for the original Casbah, which opened in 1989 at 2812 Kettner. In its present 220+ capacity location since 1994, the iconic stage backdrop has been replaced at least once. But the question remains: does that padding help cut the noise any for the tenants in the airport view apartments perched over the night club?

Upcoming Events

  • Snail Mail and Ceremony

    Friday, December 13, 8:00 p.m.

  • Blockhead and Eliot Lipp

    Saturday, December 14, 8:00 p.m.

  • Gary Heffern's Last Waltz Film Screening

    Sunday, December 15, 8:00 p.m.

  • Midnight Monuments

    Monday, December 16, 8:00 p.m.

  • Body Salt and Shane Hall

    Tuesday, December 17, 8:00 p.m.

  • Amerikan Bear and the Surrealistics

    Wednesday, December 18, 8:00 p.m.

  • Ziggy Shuffledust & the Spiders from Mars

    Thursday, December 19, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Loons, Creepxotica, the Shanghais

    Friday, December 20, 8:00 p.m.

  • Mainsail and State to State

    Saturday, December 21, 8:00 p.m.

  • El Vez and Alvino & the Dwells

    Sunday, December 22, 8:00 p.m.

  • Glass Spells and MRCH

    Monday, December 23, 8:00 p.m.

  • Exile on Kettner Blvd.

    Tuesday, December 24, 8:00 p.m.

  • El Vez Screamers Tribute and Blood Ponies

    Thursday, December 26, 8:00 p.m.

  • Drug Hunt and Dani Bell & the Tarantist

    Friday, December 27, 8:00 p.m.

  • Big Sandy & His Flyrite Boys and Deke Dickerson

    Saturday, December 28, 8:00 p.m.

  • JARA and Darenosa

    Sunday, December 29, 7:00 p.m.

  • Ten Bulls and the Bassics

    Monday, December 30, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Schizophonics and the Creepy Creeps

    Tuesday, December 31, 8:00 p.m.

  • T.S.O.L. and the Detours

    Thursday, January 2, 8:00 p.m.

  • Sure Fire Soul Ensemble

    Friday, January 3, 8:00 p.m.

  • Petty 2: Tribute to Tom Petty

    Saturday, January 4, 8:00 p.m.

  • Steve Nieve and AJUQ

    Sunday, January 5, 8:00 p.m.

  • King Khan & BBQ Show

    Friday, January 10, 8:00 p.m.

  • Mrs. Henry

    Saturday, January 11, 8:00 p.m.

  • Run River North

    Wednesday, January 15, 8:00 p.m.

  • Nada Surf

    Saturday, January 18, 8:00 p.m.

  • Cursive and Cloud Nothings

    Friday, January 24, 8:00 p.m.

  • City of the Sun and Kiltro

    Tuesday, January 28, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Toasters and Mustard Plug

    Thursday, January 30, 8:00 p.m.

  • Caspian

    Saturday, February 1, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Melvins and Hepa.Titus

    Wednesday, February 5, 8:00 p.m.

  • Lucky Chops

    Saturday, February 8, 8:00 p.m.

  • Chastity Belt and Loose Tooth

    Friday, February 14, 8:00 p.m.

  • Little People and Frameworks

    Wednesday, February 19, 8:00 p.m.

  • Illiterate Light

    Thursday, February 20, 8:00 p.m.

  • Holy Fuck

    Monday, February 24, 8:00 p.m.

  • Flor De Toloache

    Tuesday, February 25, 8:00 p.m.

  • Ezra Furman and Kelley Stoltz

    Wednesday, February 26, 8:00 p.m.

  • Sudan Archives

    Saturday, February 29, 8:00 p.m.

  • R.LUM.R

    Wednesday, March 4, 8:00 p.m.

  • Frances Quinlan

    Saturday, March 14, 8:00 p.m.

  • Algiers

    Saturday, March 21, 8:00 p.m.

  • Beach Slang

    Saturday, March 28, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Mighty Oaks

    Saturday, April 18, 8:00 p.m.

  • Secret Sisters and Leslie Stevens

    Saturday, April 25, 8:00 p.m.

Related Links

Share / Tools

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • AddThis
  • Email
  • Pin it

Comments

Log in to comment

Skip Ad
Close

Let’s Be Friends

Subscribe for local event alerts, concerts tickets, promotions and more from the San Diego Reader