Brick by Brick

The Brick first saw life as a club called the Spirit of ’76, named for the year it opened: 1976. The Spirit was the main night spot in pre-indie rock San Diego, where bands that wrote their own music could get stage time. And, it was considered a boost to one’s standing among such local musicians to merit a mention in one of Spirit founder Jerry Herrera’s self-penned Reader adverts. It became Brick by Brick in 1995 and after, the rock got harder: Thin Lizzy played there, as have Blue Oyster Cult, Megadeth, Uli Jon Roth, Zac Brown Band, and, if memory serves, the late Wendy O. Williams.

Upcoming Events

  • 36 Crazyfists and the Last Ten Seconds Of Life

    Friday, October 20, 8:00 p.m.

  • Avatar

    Sunday, October 22, 7:00 p.m.

  • Cloud Catcher and Monarch

    Tuesday, October 24, 8:00 p.m.

  • Huntress and Joanovarc

    Thursday, October 26, 8:00 p.m.

  • Time Machine, R.I.P., Hardwired

    Friday, October 27, 8:00 p.m.

  • Dallas Toler-Wade's Narcotic Wasteland

    Monday, October 30, 7:00 p.m.

  • Nekromantix and the Brains

    Wednesday, November 1, 8:00 p.m.

  • Gemini Syndrome

    Friday, November 3, 8:00 p.m.

  • Vale of Pnath and First Fragment

    Saturday, November 4, 8:00 p.m.

  • Dope and Hed PE

    Thursday, November 9, 7:00 p.m.

  • D.R.I. and Deathwish

    Friday, November 10, 7:00 p.m.

  • Origin and Archspire

    Saturday, November 11, 6:30 p.m.

  • Psychostick and Arsonists Get All the Girls

    Thursday, November 16, 8:00 p.m.

  • Dance With the Dead and Gost

    Friday, November 17, 7:00 p.m.

  • Guttermouth and Koffin Kats

    Saturday, November 18, 8:00 p.m.

  • Darkest Hour and Warbringer

    Saturday, December 2, 8:00 p.m.

  • Whitechapel and Carnifex

    Thursday, December 7, 6:00 p.m.

  • Graham Bonnet Band

    Monday, December 11, 7:00 p.m.

  • Green Jello

    Friday, December 22, 8:00 p.m.

  • Mac Sabbath and Dwarves

    Saturday, December 30, 8:00 p.m.

  • Fates Warning

    Saturday, January 13, 8:00 p.m.

  • Hammerfall

    Friday, January 26, 8:00 p.m.

  • Converge

    Saturday, January 27, 8:00 p.m.

  • Dirkschneider and Helsott

    Friday, March 23, 7:00 p.m.

Share / Tools

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • AddThis
  • Email
  • Pin it

Comments

The closed venue has announced it will reopen, with a slate of upcoming concerts including Corrosion of Conformity, Fuel, the Burning of Rome, PHILM featuring Dave Lombardo, and Drum Wars: An Evening with Vinny & Carmine Appice.

Log in to comment

Skip Ad