Brick by Brick

The Brick first saw life as a club called the Spirit of ’76, named for the year it opened: 1976. The Spirit was the main night spot in pre-indie rock San Diego, where bands that wrote their own music could get stage time. And, it was considered a boost to one’s standing among such local musicians to merit a mention in one of Spirit founder Jerry Herrera’s self-penned Reader adverts. It became Brick by Brick in 1995 and after, the rock got harder: Thin Lizzy played there, as have Blue Oyster Cult, Megadeth, Uli Jon Roth, Zac Brown Band, and, if memory serves, the late Wendy O. Williams.

Upcoming Events

  • Strung Out and Ignite

    Saturday, December 16, 8:00 p.m.

  • Green Jello

    Friday, December 22, 8:00 p.m.

  • Bullet Boys and Frank Hannon

    Friday, December 29, 7:30 p.m.

  • Mac Sabbath and Dwarves

    Saturday, December 30, 8:00 p.m.

  • White Wizzard

    Thursday, January 11, 7:00 p.m.

  • Fates Warning

    Saturday, January 13, 8:00 p.m.

  • Esham

    Saturday, January 20, 8:00 p.m.

  • Hammerfall

    Friday, January 26, 8:00 p.m.

  • Converge and Sumac

    Saturday, January 27, 8:00 p.m.

  • Joe Lynn Turner

    Saturday, February 3, 7:00 p.m.

  • Zebra

    Thursday, February 8, 8:00 p.m.

  • Dirkschneider and Helsott

    Friday, March 23, 7:00 p.m.

  • John 5 and Taz Taylor Band

    Thursday, April 5, 8:00 p.m.

  • Uli Jon Roth

    Friday, June 8, 8:00 p.m.

Share / Tools

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • AddThis
  • Email
  • Pin it

Comments

The closed venue has announced it will reopen, with a slate of upcoming concerts including Corrosion of Conformity, Fuel, the Burning of Rome, PHILM featuring Dave Lombardo, and Drum Wars: An Evening with Vinny & Carmine Appice.

Log in to comment

Skip Ad

SD Reader Newsletters

Join our newsletter list and enter to win a $25 gift card to The Broken Yolk Cafe!

Each subscription means another chance to win!

Close