Brick by Brick

The Brick first saw life as a club called the Spirit of ’76, named for the year it opened: 1976. The Spirit was the main night spot in pre-indie rock San Diego, where bands that wrote their own music could get stage time. And, it was considered a boost to one’s standing among such local musicians to merit a mention in one of Spirit founder Jerry Herrera’s self-penned Reader adverts. It became Brick by Brick in 1995 and after, the rock got harder: Thin Lizzy played there, as have Blue Oyster Cult, Megadeth, Uli Jon Roth, Zac Brown Band, and, if memory serves, the late Wendy O. Williams.

Upcoming Events

  • Aborted and Cryptopsy

    Sunday, March 31, 7:30 p.m.

  • Anvil

    Thursday, April 4, 8:00 p.m.

  • Anthem and a Perfect Tool

    Friday, April 5, 7:00 p.m.

  • Combichrist and Silver Snakes

    Monday, April 8, 8:00 p.m.

  • John 5 and Dead Girls Academy

    Sunday, April 14, 8:00 p.m.

  • Monolord

    Friday, April 19, 8:00 p.m.

  • Psycroptic and Cannabis Corpse

    Friday, April 26, 8:00 p.m.

  • Perturbator

    Sunday, April 28, 8:00 p.m.

  • Archspire and Virvum

    Monday, May 13, 8:00 p.m.

  • Dark Funeral and Hate

    Friday, May 17, 7:00 p.m.

  • Skeletonwitch and Portrayal of Guilt

    Tuesday, May 21, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Damned Things and Crobot

    Saturday, May 25, 8:00 p.m.

  • Full of Hell and Primitive Man

    Sunday, June 2, 8:00 p.m.

  • Flotsam and Jetsam

    Friday, June 14, 7:00 p.m.

  • Warbringer and Enforcer

    Thursday, September 5, 8:00 p.m.

  • Millencolin

    Friday, September 13, 8:00 p.m.

Share / Tools

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • AddThis
  • Email
  • Pin it

Comments

The closed venue has announced it will reopen, with a slate of upcoming concerts including Corrosion of Conformity, Fuel, the Burning of Rome, PHILM featuring Dave Lombardo, and Drum Wars: An Evening with Vinny & Carmine Appice.

Log in to comment

Skip Ad