Belly Up Tavern

An anchor tenant in the local rock music community since 1974, the Belly Up has become something of a touristy home for tribute and reggae and jam bands in recent years. But the intimate 600-capacity venue is still financially attractive to mid-size national touring acts. Joe Walsh debuted his new solo release Analog Man there last year. Blues rocker John Mayall has been known to book stage time along with the English Beat, B.B. King, Leon Russell, the Black Eyed Peas, Death Cab for Cutie, the Red Hot Chili Peppers, No Doubt, Ludacris, Jason Mraz, Buddy Guy, and Chris Isaak.

Upcoming Events

  • Earthless

    Sunday, December 16, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Soft Moon and Hide

    Monday, December 17, 8:00 p.m.

  • For the Sender Holiday Show

    Tuesday, December 18, 8:00 p.m.

  • Venice Christmas Show

    Wednesday, December 19, 8:00 p.m.

  • Eric Rachmany

    Friday, December 21, 8:00 p.m.

  • Beatles vs Stones

    Saturday, December 22, 8:00 p.m.

  • Cash'd Out

    Sunday, December 23, 8:00 p.m.

  • Easy Wind

    Wednesday, December 26, 8:00 p.m.

  • Karl Denson's Tiny Universe

    Thursday, December 27, 8:00 p.m.

  • Donavon Frankenreiter

    Friday, December 28, 8:00 p.m.

  • Donavon Frankenreiter

    Saturday, December 29, 8:00 p.m.

  • Michael Franti and Spearhead

    Sunday, December 30, 8:00 p.m.

  • Michael Franti and Spearhead

    Monday, December 31, 8:00 p.m.

  • Michael Franti and Spearhead

    Tuesday, January 1, 8:00 p.m.

  • Aviator Stash and Imagery Machine

    Thursday, January 3, 8:00 p.m.

  • Queen Nation

    Friday, January 4, 8:00 p.m.

  • Beat Farmers Hootenanny

    Saturday, January 5, 8:00 p.m.

  • Leo Kottke

    Sunday, January 6, 8:00 p.m.

  • Bill Champlin & WunderGround

    Tuesday, January 8, 8:00 p.m.

  • Eric Burdon & the Animals

    Wednesday, January 9, 8:00 p.m.

  • Eric Burdon & the Animals

    Thursday, January 10, 8:00 p.m.

  • Wild Child

    Friday, January 11, 8:00 p.m.

  • Amen Dunes

    Saturday, January 12, 8:00 p.m.

  • Paul Thorn and Alice Drinks the Kool Aid

    Monday, January 14, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Magpie Salute and the Stone Foxes

    Tuesday, January 15, 8:00 p.m.

  • Daring Greatly and Miss Violette

    Wednesday, January 16, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Infamous Stringdusters

    Thursday, January 17, 8:00 p.m.

  • DSB

    Friday, January 18, 8:00 p.m.

  • Tommy Castro & the Painkillers

    Saturday, January 19, 8:00 p.m.

  • Trombone Shorty & Orleans Avenue

    Monday, January 21, 8:00 p.m.

  • Trombone Shorty & Orleans Avenue

    Tuesday, January 22, 8:00 p.m.

  • Trombone Shorty & Orleans Avenue

    Wednesday, January 23, 8:00 p.m.

  • Big Head Todd & the Monsters

    Thursday, January 24, 8:00 p.m.

  • The English Beat

    Friday, January 25, 8:00 p.m.

  • The English Beat

    Saturday, January 26, 8:00 p.m.

  • Ana Popovic

    Sunday, January 27, 8:00 p.m.

  • Sergio Mendes

    Tuesday, January 29, 8:00 p.m.

  • Tower of Power 50th Anniversary

    Wednesday, January 30, 8:00 p.m.

  • Turkuaz and Paris Monster

    Thursday, January 31, 8:00 p.m.

  • Jacob Banks

    Friday, February 1, 8:00 p.m.

  • Vaud & the Villains

    Saturday, February 2, 8:00 p.m.

  • Blackberry Smoke and Chris Shiflett

    Monday, February 4, 8:00 p.m.

  • Blackberry Smoke and Chris Shiflett

    Tuesday, February 5, 8:00 p.m.

  • North Mississippi Allstars

    Wednesday, February 6, 8:00 p.m.

  • Joan Osborne Sings Bob Dylan

    Thursday, February 7, 8:00 p.m.

  • Tainted Love

    Saturday, February 9, 8:00 p.m.

  • Joshua Radin

    Sunday, February 10, 8:00 p.m.

  • Ottmar Liebert & Luna Negra

    Tuesday, February 12, 8:00 p.m.

  • Dead Man's Party and the Black 52's

    Friday, February 15, 8:00 p.m.

  • Los Lonely Boys

    Sunday, February 17, 8:00 p.m.

  • Mark Hummel's Golden State & Lone Star Blues Revue

    Tuesday, February 19, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Mother Hips

    Friday, February 22, 8:00 p.m.

  • Steve Poltz 10th Annual 50th Birthday

    Saturday, February 23, 8:00 p.m.

  • Albert Hammond Jr.

    Sunday, February 24, 8:00 p.m.

  • Coco Montoya and Tinsley Ellis

    Wednesday, February 27, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Wood Brothers

    Thursday, February 28, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Wood Brothers

    Friday, March 1, 8:00 p.m.

  • Pine Mountain Logs

    Saturday, March 2, 8:00 p.m.

  • Marshall Tucker Band

    Sunday, March 3, 8:00 p.m.

  • Twiddle and Iya Terra

    Tuesday, March 5, 8:00 p.m.

  • Super Diamond

    Friday, March 15, 8:00 p.m.

  • Super Diamond

    Saturday, March 16, 8:00 p.m.

  • Ladysmith Black Mambazo

    Thursday, March 21, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Spazmatics and Rockgarden

    Friday, March 22, 8:00 p.m.

  • Galactic ft. Erica Falls

    Thursday, March 28, 8:00 p.m.

  • Black Moth Super Rainbow

    Sunday, March 31, 8:00 p.m.

  • Al Stewart & the Empty Pockets

    Wednesday, April 3, 8:00 p.m.

  • Buddy Guy

    Sunday, April 7, 8:00 p.m.

  • Jimmie Vaughan

    Tuesday, April 9, 8:00 p.m.

  • White Denim

    Sunday, April 28, 8:00 p.m.

  • Wayward Sons and Rockgarden

    Saturday, May 4, 8:00 p.m.

  • Jefferson Starship

    Friday, May 10, 8:00 p.m.

  • Jefferson Starship

    Saturday, May 11, 8:00 p.m.

  • Idles and Fontaines D.C.

    Tuesday, May 21, 8:00 p.m.

Share / Tools

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • AddThis
  • Email
  • Pin it

Comments

Log in to comment

Skip Ad
Close

Let’s Be Friends

Subscribe for local event alerts, concerts tickets, promotions and more from the San Diego Reader