Freshmen be advised, Birdy's a sophomore

Al Howard skips the "organic" cliché and describes how it happened

II is the title of Birdy Bardot's second long-player.
  • II is the title of Birdy Bardot's second long-player.

“We’re all releasing our albums at the Casbah in a 3D release party,” says Shawn P. Rohlf (7th Day Buskers) of the May 27 event he’s staging with Jeff Berkley and Veronica May. “My new solo album is called Country Mouse, City Mouse – Act 1. There will be some spoken-word interludes between some of the songs by Hollywood actor and comedian Mark Christopher Lawrence, who’ll be reading from my original poem ‘Country Mouse, City Mouse,’ adapted from the old fable of the same name. I’ve also produced some prerecorded tracks combining electric and acoustic instruments, industrial sounds, and electronic beats to be played as underscoring to his dialogue, creating a multimedia experience.”

Past Event

Shawn P. Rohlf, Jeff Berkley, Veronica May

  • Saturday, May 27, 2017, 8 p.m.
  • Casbah, 2501 Kettner Boulevard, San Diego
  • 21+ / $10 - $12

Jeff Berkley (Berkley Hart, Citizen Band) will debut his solo album Whorehouse, Hot Sauce & Souvenirs, which he says “features shades of New Orleans funk, gospel, and muscular guitar rock,” and Veronica May is premiering her Awakened full-length. “In addition,” says Rohlf, “we have Grampadrew’s Flim Flam Revue performing in the Atari Lounge between sets.”

The local Redwoods Music label has five acts releasing new albums over the next few months, beginning with the June 23 launch at the Casbah for Birdy Bardot’s sophomore release, II. “Birdy will be joined by other Redwoods artists playing songs from the new album, along with other collaborations,” says Bardot bandmate (and label honcho) Al Howard. “With artists like Shelbi Bennett, Rebecca Jade, and Dani Bell appearing on the new album, we’re expecting an eventful show.”

Past Event

Birdy Bardot and the Heavy Guilt

  • Friday, June 23, 2017, 8 p.m.
  • Casbah, 2501 Kettner Boulevard, San Diego
  • 21+ / $10

For the album, “Every member brought at least one song to the table. This is probably the most collaborative Redwoods album to date. Most of the songs were lyrics first. Then, we’d flesh out melodic ideas with Birdy and one musician and, once we had a batch of songs, we’d start recording it with the band, getting their first feel for them with the mics running. You’re hearing the songs explored in their most nascent forms and developed in the studio.”

The June 23 show also features the return of Howard’s band the Heavy Guilt (currently recording a new full-length), and the bill includes Dani Bell & the Tarantist.

Share / Tools

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • AddThis
  • Email

More from SDReader


Log in to comment

Skip Ad