Record-release roundup

Family Wagon becomes Brothers Weiss, releases debut EP this week.
  • Family Wagon becomes Brothers Weiss, releases debut EP this week.

The new year is kicking off with a herd of earworms, including the debut full-length from jazz-funk dancehall drifters Mafard, whose first single, “Finger Lickin’ Chicken Pickin’ Mexican,” has been stirring the controversy pot.

An unreleased version of the Shambles song “All Sorts” appears on a new compilation, Sweet Relief 3, from Michigan-based JAM Records. Built around a backing track produced in 2002 by Gregory Page, players include Bart Mendoza, Jeff Berkley, Cathryn Beeks, Derek Duplessie, Danny Cress, and Dylan Martinez.

Also out this week is the newest two-disc edition of Powerpop Planet (Volume 3), from Colorado-based Pop Geek Heaven, featuring tracks from locals Neon Cough (“World of Tomorrow”), True Stories (“Hearts on Sleeve”), Normandie Wilson (“Nobody Loves You Like I Do”), and Scott Mathiasen & the Shifty Eyed Dogs (“Oh Misery”).

Past Event

Brothers Weiss

  • Friday, January 10, 2014, 7:30 p.m.
  • Soda Bar, 3615 El Cajon Boulevard, San Diego

Hard-rock trio Brothers Weiss (cofounded by former Family Wagon guitarist Ryan Weiss) will premiere their five-song Conversations EP in City Heights on January 10 at the Soda Bar.

Acoustic troubadour Tom Brosseau is debuting Grass Punks on the 11th at Swedenborg Hall in University Heights, where he’ll appear with the album’s producer and guest player Sean Watkins (Nickel Creek, Fiction Family).

Past Event

Tom Brosseau and Sean Watkins

  • Saturday, January 11, 2014, 8 p.m. to 10 p.m.
  • Swedenborg Hall, 1531 Tyler Avenue, San Diego
  • $15 - $20

Switchfoot continues their mainstream invasion with Fading West, due January 14 from big-time Atlantic Records and tying into their same-named surfing/tour documentary. The second full-length from up-and-comers Trouble in the Wind, Slide Rock, drops the same day, featuring 16 songs mixed and recorded by the band and preceded by its first single “Taken.”

Lo-fi grads Dum Dum Girls have a new full-length due to drop on January 28 called Too True, with its first single “Lost Boys and Girls Club.”

Jake E. Lee’s new band Red Dragon Cartel got off to a rocky start with a lambasted concert debut at Hollywood’s Whiskey A Go Go, with singer Darren James Smith posting an online apology for his poor showing. Their self-titled album (Lee’s first in two decades) is due for release January 28 via Frontiers Records, and they’ve already scored a slot at UK’s 2014 Download festival, happening June 13 through 15 and headlined by Aerosmith, Linkin Park, and Avenged Sevenfold. That ain’t too bad.

Share / Tools

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • AddThis
  • Email

More from SDReader


Log in to comment

Skip Ad

Let’s Be Friends

Subscribe for local event alerts, concerts tickets, promotions and more from the San Diego Reader