Lonerism, by Tame Impala

Lonerism is the second outing for the brainchild of Perth’s Kevin Parker, for it is he who composes, produces, sings, and plays (almost) everything on Tame Impala records. He’s even responsible for the sleeve photography.

Kicking off and fading in with a mantra chant (“Be Above It”), the tones are set with space-rock electronics before heading into an orbit of flanged guitars and swirling, multilayered vocals. Think Syd era Floyd, White album Beatles, 13th Floor Elevators.

However, lead single “Elephant” stomps along to a fuzz tone bass and a T-Rex groove and sounds slightly out of sync with the rest of the collection.

Usually, when an artist’s influences are rooted in the ’60s, they look and sound past their sell-by date. Parker & Co. find something fresh to add to the psychedelic smorgasbord. “Feels Like We Only Go Backwards,” with its beautiful summer melody and organ, could be their potential hit 45. “Sun's Coming Up” brings us to the end of the trip. It’s an awkward ending to the album, with a dour vocal and piano before breaking up and into guitar fragments. “Are you too terrified to try your best?” is asked in “Apocalypse Dreams.” This record shows its author is not.

  • Album: Lonerism
  • Artist: Tame Impala
  • Songs: (1) Be Above It (2) Endors Toi (3) Apocalypse Dreams (4) Mind Mischief (5) Music to Walk Home By (6) Why Won't They Talk to Me? (7) Feels Like We Only Go Backwards (8) Keep on Lying (9) Elephant (10) She Just Won't Believe Me (11) Nothing That Has Happened So Far Has Been Anything We Could Control (12) Sun's Coming Up

Share / Tools

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • AddThis
  • Email

More from SDReader


Log in to comment

Skip Ad

Let’s Be Friends

Subscribe for local event alerts, concerts tickets, promotions and more from the San Diego Reader