Record-Release Roundup

The grammatical Paragraphs opt for a mathematical title on +/–.
  • The grammatical Paragraphs opt for a mathematical title on +/–.

The local band compilation Staring at the Sun Volume 10 will debut with an all-ages show at Lestat’s on October 6, featuring a bill that includes Tolan Shaw, the Comeuppance (performing as a quartet), David Fleminger (the Answers), Tom Ward (Gravedigger V), Paul Brewin (Uncle Joe’s Big Ol’ Driver), and Heather Vorwerck.

The Paragraphs’ debut full-length, +/-, recorded at White Horse Recorders and released on their own Domestic Wax Records, comes out October 7, with its first single, “There Is Nothing You Can Do.” As for the mathematical album title, “It stands for something lost, something gained,” says drummer Mike Hunt. “It’s about discovering what it means to come back from that lonely place we’ve all been to, looking at losing love as a rite of passage, and kicking it. Hard.”

The release party for Old Tiger’s debut full-length Love Have Mercy happens October 12 at the Casbah, though the band encourages you to purchase in advance online. “If you order one copy,” says Dustin Lothspeich, “we’ll send you up to five copies of the CD for gifts to your friends and family for no extra charge.” The bill also includes the Heavy Guilt, Nena Anderson & the Mules, and the Red Fox Tails.

October 16 will also see Pinback’s first album since 2007, Information Retrieved.

Former San Diegans Andy and Jayme Ralph of Writer, currently living in New York City, will release their full-length, Brotherface, on October 30, with a free download of its single “Hot Days” now available online.

Share / Tools

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • AddThis
  • Email

More from SDReader


More October releases: A new full-length from jazz pianist Danny Green, A Thousand Ways Home, drops October 16 courtesy of Tapestry Records. Incorporating Brazilian and Latin influences, as well as jazz and classical, the SDMA Best Album winner is backed on the album by Julien Cantelm on drums, Justin Grinnell on bass, and Tripp Sprague on sax. Guest players include Eva Scow (mandolin), Peter Sprague (guitar), and Claudia Villela (vocals).

Also on October 16, hard rockers In Fear and Faith are releasing a self-titled 12-song full-length, while they’re on the Inked Magazine Music Tour Featuring Alesana, with a preview single, “A Creeping Dose,” now streaming online.

The debut full-length from teen pop crooner Dylan Hyde drops October 23, plus famous former neighbors Ann and Nancy Wilson of Heart also have a new album this month (Fanatic), as does rockabilly queen Rosie Flores (Working Girl’s Guitar), who's currently living in TX.

Log in to comment

Skip Ad

Let’s Be Friends

Subscribe for local event alerts, concerts tickets, promotions and more from the San Diego Reader