Conatus, by Zola Jesus

Born Nika Roza Danilova, Russian-American singer/songwriter Zola Jesus issued two EPs in 2010 that created a buzz around the young artist. In 2011, Zola Jesus compiled the stylistically impressive full-length Conatus, which ranges from synth and electro to piano-driven pop.

From her beats-driven track "Avalanche" to the infectious dance-pop of "In Your Nature," Zola Jesus uses her operatic voice to engage and affect her listeners. Though just 4'11", Danilova's voice is powerful and smooth, gleaming through this 44-minute album. Though piano-pop torch singers are in no short supply these days, Zola Jesus' Conatus has the added dimension of dance-goth tracks propelled by heavy drums.

Though Zola Jesus may not be a radio staple, each track she offers here has its own unique sound, pointing to a future full of promising stylistic possibilities.

  • Album: Conatus
  • Artist: Zola Jesus
  • Label: Sacred Bones
  • Songs: (1) Swords (2) Avalanche (3) Vessel (4) Hikkomori (5) Ixode (6) Seekir (7) In Your Nature (8) Lick the Palm of the Burning Handshake (9) Shivers (10) Skin (11) Collapse (12) Days Grow Older

Share / Tools

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • AddThis
  • Email

More from SDReader


Log in to comment

Skip Ad

Let’s Be Friends

Subscribe for local event alerts, concerts tickets, promotions and more from the San Diego Reader