Record-Release Roundup

Jam Sax releases unreleased tracks from unreleased CD. Wait, what...?
  • Jam Sax releases unreleased tracks from unreleased CD. Wait, what...?

This week, Netherlands-based Mascot Label Group launches a worldwide rerelease of Transfer’s Future Selves, SDMA winner for Best Rock Album of 2010, while Atlantic Records releases Switchfoot’s eighth studio record Vice Verses, produced by Neal Avron (Weezer, Linkin Park). Disney’s Hollywood Records is serving up the new full-length from ’tween popsters Allstar Weekend, All the Way; Red Pony Clock drops new full-length Whatevz Forevzzz; and the New Kinetics want you to get into Contact with them.

October 4, goth-y surf rockers Tropical Popsicle will release seven-inch “The Beach with No Footprints,” on local Volar Records. Bandleader Tim Hines (the Stereotypes, Lights On) recently filled out the group with Kyle Whatley (guitar, organ, vocals), Chase Elliott (bass, synths), and Ryan Hand (drums), who’ll be celebrating his birthday when the band plays the Belly Up on October 10.

Jamuel Saxon drops their No Rules, Just Noice EP on October 27 at Soda Bar. Says Keith Milgaten, “It has songs that didn’t make it onto the Pre-Madonna album, which was coproduced by Jimmy Lavalle [the Album Leaf, Tristeza].”

October 29, grit-pop rockers Subsurfer will have a release party at the Salty Frog in Imperial Beach for We Are Stars, coproduced by Brian Karscig (Nervous Wreckords, Louis XIV). “Brian also sang on the album,” says bassist/singer Deric Fernandez. “He’ll be at the Salty Frog and may contribute to the set.”

Share / Tools

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • AddThis
  • Email

More from SDReader


Jamuel Saxon's Pre-Madonna album remains unreleased. "It’s waiting on a cloud for the right label to pick it up, instead of blowing our proverbial load on a local release,” says Milgaten. The No Rules, Just Noice EP (“its load is entirely for blowing”) will include a club version of the Vision of a Dying World’s “Awoken By a Scene From the End Times,” a Cuckoo Chaos cover, a remix of “Landmines + Chandeliers” by Lee Schneider (aka Groundfloor), a new six-minute track called “Ancestor,” and a sequel to their earlier song “Deon Sanders Pt. 3” called’ “Deon Sanders Pt. 4.”

The Tall Ships (featuring former Dryve drummer Keith Andrews) will reissue their sophomore album On Tariffs and Discovery in a vinyl edition (300 copies, 180 gram white wax), with a record release show at the Soda Bar on October 22.

The Mosaic Quartet will be doing an EP release party at Analog on Friday, October 14 at 8:30pm.

Log in to comment

Skip Ad

Let’s Be Friends

Subscribe for local event alerts, concerts tickets, promotions and more from the San Diego Reader