Record-Release Roundup

Tornado Magnet is a band of who’s whos on the San Diego scene.
  • Tornado Magnet is a band of who’s whos on the San Diego scene.

New this week is the debut from Middle Brother, featuring Delta Spirit singer Matthew Vasquez alongside Taylor Goldsmith (Dawes) and John McCauley (Deer Tick). A free download of the track “Me Me Me” is available at PartisanRecords.com.

The debut five-track EP from pop-punk trio Lesands, Sweet Skin, can be downloaded free at the BandCamp website. They’ll play it at Austin’s annual South by Southwest music fest, happening March 11–20.

Gayle Skidmore’s new album, Make Believe, with accompanying coloring book, is being sold on a name-your-own-price basis at BandCamp.

The Best of Candye Kane: Songs from the Toughest Girl Alive Stage Play collects 23 original compositions from the blues belter’s recent autobiographical stage show at the Moxie Theater. Kane also self-released the new Burlesque Swing CD, with Sue Palmer on piano and Steve Wilcox on guitar.

Debuting March 15 is a two-disc DVD from heavy metallers Cage, The Rise to Power. Disc one features their Progpower X show in Atlanta, Georgia, while disc two includes footage from various festivals and five unreleased audio tracks.

Tornado Magnet drops their “Digby Falling Down” single on March 28, taken from the upcoming full-length Bob’s Your Uncle. The album features Beat Farmer Joey Harris, Mike Ashley, Wolfgang Gresakemp (Hazel O’Connor), Tom Owens and Doug Meyer (Bastard Sons of Johnny Cash), and Phillip Bensimon.

Unwritten Law invited fans to submit art for their album Swan, due March 29 on Suburban Noize Records. The three winning creations will appear on variant editions of the album.

Also new for March: The Narcissists Anonymous EP from DUDES (aka former Da Bears frontman Ryan Solomon), the debut album from Pretty Too Bad (featuring players from Transit War, Demasiado, and Irradio), a four-LP vinyl box set reissue from the reunited Psychotic Waltz (The Architects Arise: The First Ten Years), and a new full-length from the hip-hop execs of Vokab Company (Quit Sleep, with guest player Lincoln Parish of Cage the Elephant).

Share / Tools

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • AddThis
  • Email

More from SDReader


Log in to comment

Skip Ad

Let’s Be Friends

Subscribe for local event alerts, concerts tickets, promotions and more from the San Diego Reader