Record-Release Roundup

Dave Mustaine: “As soon as I said I was going to call [the new record] 13, I started noticing 13 everywhere.”
  • Dave Mustaine: “As soon as I said I was going to call [the new record] 13, I started noticing 13 everywhere.”

Pharmacy’s release party for No Drugs Included happens Friday, August 5, at the Go Lounge in La Mesa. “One of the covers we plan on doing is an old Zeros song,” says frontwoman Kitten Johnson. “Their guitarist Javier [Escovedo] gave me his blessing.” The event marks the local debut of new band bassist Ramone Ramone.

When Candye Kane plays a free show August 7 at Pacific Beach Concerts on the Green, she’ll be previewing tracks from her new full-length Sister Vagabond, which hits the streets August 16 on Delta Groove Records. The album was produced by Kane and her guitarist Laura Chavez, who coproduced her 2010 Superhero album.

Experimental trio Nicey Nice World — singer/cellist Joyce Rooks (the Dinettes), keyboardist Jim Call (Cardiac Kidz), and electronic wiz Marcelo Radulovich — will debut their self-titled full-length at the Casbah on August 31. “Attendees can expect real good, super vibrant magic fire music performance kind of stuff,” says Radulovich.

Blink 182’s Neighborhoods album won’t be out when they join My Chemical Romance for a 40-plus date nationwide trek beginning August 5; it’ll ship September 27; though, a new single, “Up All Night,” is streaming at blink182.com. Their October 15 San Diego show has been rescheduled to October 6.

Megadeth’s upcoming album, recorded in San Marcos, will be called TH1RT3EN. “I started playing guitar at 13, and this is our 13th record, and I was born on the 13th,” Dave Mustaine recently told DJ Tom Russell. “As soon as I said I was going to call it 13, I started noticing 13 everywhere.”

Share / Tools

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • AddThis
  • Email

More from SDReader


Girl-pop duo the Glossines have a record release gig set for August 12 at the Tower Bar, on a bill that also includes the Regressions.

Stephen Pearcy announced his next solo album will be called Sucker Punch, rather than the previously announced Battering Ramm. “RATT w/me involved will not be active 2011, maybe longer,” he posted on Twitter.

Log in to comment

Skip Ad