Jasmine is the first recorded collaboration by Jarrett and Haden in 30 years. Haden was an integral member of Jarrett's ensembles in the 1970s, playing a role in some of the finest music made in that period. For this release, Jarrett seems to have toned down his unbridled virtuosity a tad — all the better for this music — a deeply felt and played series of (mostly) ballads. Many of these songs have been recorded hundreds of times; does anybody really need to hear another version of "Body and Soul"? Yet in these hands, that overplayed warhorse is brought to a new plateau — and it's riveting.

Charlie Haden's "sound" is a marvel: it's massive and resonant and pure. He can make a single whole note sound so gorgeous you want to hold it in your ear forever, and there are dozens of such moments here. Particularly noteworthy are their performances of "No Moon at All" and "One Day I'll Fly Away," although this disc is so good it's hard to single out individual efforts. These two masters are incapable of a false note. Jasmine is a testament to that and is a recommended essential.

  • Album: Jasmine (2010)
  • Artists: Keith Jarrett/Charlie Haden
  • Label: ECM 2165
  • Songs: (1) For All We Know (2) Where Can I Go Without You (3) No Moon at All (4) One Day I'll Fly Away (5) I'm Gonna Laugh You Right Out of My Life (6) Body and Soul (7) Goodbye (8) Don't Ever Leave Me

Share / Tools

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • AddThis
  • Email

More from SDReader


Log in to comment

Skip Ad

Let’s Be Friends

Subscribe for local event alerts, concerts tickets, promotions and more from the San Diego Reader