A Midsummer Night's Dream

Friday, Oct. 11, 8 p.m.

Where: Jacobs Music Center/Copley Symphony Hall, 750 B Street, San Diego | get directions

Cost: $20 - $100 | Get tickets

Age limit: All ages

ARTISTS Rafael Payare, conductor Víkingur Ólafsson, piano Tasha Koontz, soprano Kira Dills-DeSurra, mezzo soprano Women of the San Diego Master Chorale Actors: Roger Mueller, Jill Shellabarger, Matthew Krause, Susan Shunk, Jonathan Mastro, Brad Armacost and Scott Rad Brown Text Adaptation and Stage Director: Gerard McBurney Video Projections: Mike Tutaj REPERTOIRE ESTÉVEZ: Mediodía en el llano (Midday on the Plains) SCHUMANN: Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 54 MENDELSSOHN: Incidental Music to A Midsummer Night's Dream, Op. 61 (with text by William Shakespeare) Please join us 45 minutes before the concert for "What's the Score?", a lively talk about the composers and the repertoire given by commentator Nuvi Mehta from the stage of Copley Symphony Hall. ABOUT Hear Felix Mendelssohn's music as it was meant to be experienced, as a stellar cast of actors presents an abridged version of William Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream, accompanied by Mendelssohn’s magical score! But first, journey to Rafael Payare's homeland and experience the beauty of the Venezuelan countryside with Antonio Estévez’s Midday on the Plains. Also, sensational young pianist Víkingur Ólafsson gives his interpretation of the ultimate "piano concerto as love letter," Robert Schumann's Piano Concerto in A minor, dedicated to Clara Schumann.

Additional Dates


Revise or correct this event listing

Please log in to submit event corrections


Log in to comment

Skip Ad