Mrs. Henry

Photo of Mrs. Henry

Daniel Cervantes: Guitar (electric), Vocals | Chad Lee: Drums | Jody Bagley: Keyboards | Blake Dean: Bass guitar

Genre: Acoustic, Rock

RIYL: Howlin’ Rain, Creature & the Woods, the Blue Moonies, Cathouse Thursday, Elijah Ford, the Silent Comedy, Boss Run, the Tommy Mitchell Show, the Black Keys, Deer Tick, Little Feat, Led Zeppelin, Frank Zappa, the Rolling Stones, Bob Dylan & the Band, Elmore James, Muddy Waters, Neil Young, the Black Keys, Mississippi John Hurt, Peter Green’s Fleetwood Mac, Soundgarden, John Mayall & the Blues Breakers, the Talking Heads

Upcoming Local Shows

No shows scheduled

Related Links


Inception: San Diego, 2012

Ex-Band Members: Dustin Schemensky, Drums Jason Areford, Bass guitar Kyle Areford, Guitar (acoustic), Guitar (electric)

Influences: Bob Dylan, the Grateful Dead, Charles Bradley, Deer Tick, the Band, Led Zeppelin, Little Feat, Parliament Funkadelic. Frank Zappa, Yes, Mahavishnu Orchestra, The Rolling Stones, Neil Young & Crazy Horse


Formed in March 2012, Mrs. Henry began as a newly evolved version of Dick Justice and the Happy Smoke. Influenced by everything that shuffles, swings, or carries a back beat, the group's initial lineup featured singer/guitarist Daniel Cervantes (Whiskey Circle, Howlin Rain, Creature and the Woods), with drummer Dustin Schemensky and bassist Jason Areford (both of Blues and Greens), and Jason's drummer-turned-guitarist brother Kyle Areford. Not The Kinda Girl was released in 2013.

By summer 2015, the lineup had changed to feature Cervantes alongside drummer Chad Lee (the Silent Comedy, Elijah Ford), keyboardist Jody Bagley (Blue Moonies, the Tommy Mitchell Show, Cathouse Thursday), and bassist Blake Dean (Happy Ron Hill, Boss Run).

Their album Otay was released in January 2016. Recorded over the course of 2011 through 2015, it was tracked in a garage, various home studios, and a warehouse, featuring guest musicians and band members past and present. Assembled by Cervantes in Otay, the album was mixed by Stephen Kaye at Sunking Studios and mastered by Joe Bozzi at Bernie Grundman.

Later that year, a self-titled two volume set was released, with Volume 1 and Volume 2 appearing several months apart. Bandleader Cervantes was backed by drummer Chad Lee, keyboardist Jody Bagley, and bassist Blake Dean. “We recorded this album one hundred percent analog with engineer Jordan Andreen at Audio Design Recording here in San Diego,” says Cervantes. “Tracked on vintage gear, while rolling and splicing tape, we were able to capture incredible performances and improvisation by playing live in the studio.”

Mrs. Henry Volume 1 comes with a fold-out poster painted by Portland based artist Adam Burke, featuring the lighthouse visited in Newport, OR on the band's 2015 west coast tour. "The second track on the album 'All I Can Do' captures their experience that inspired the nine-plus minute odyssey ending in the actual ocean sounds recorded cliffside in the Pacific North West," says Cervantes.

Their 2018 all-star Last Waltz performance was recorded and released as a 3LP vinyl album, featuring artwork by Roy G Biv and liner notes written by Noac C. Lekas.




Log in to comment

Skip Ad

Let’s Be Friends

Subscribe for local event alerts, concerts tickets, promotions and more from the San Diego Reader