Brick by Brick

The Brick first saw life as a club called the Spirit of ’76, named for the year it opened: 1976. The Spirit was the main night spot in pre-indie rock San Diego, where bands that wrote their own music could get stage time. And, it was considered a boost to one’s standing among such local musicians to merit a mention in one of Spirit founder Jerry Herrera’s self-penned Reader adverts. It became Brick by Brick in 1995 and after, the rock got harder: Thin Lizzy played there, as have Blue Oyster Cult, Megadeth, Uli Jon Roth, Zac Brown Band, and, if memory serves, the late Wendy O. Williams.

Upcoming Events

  • Metal Mondays

    Monday, May 1, 8:30 p.m.

  • Finding T.H.E.T.I.S.

    Thursday, May 11, 8:00 p.m.

  • The Bastards

    Saturday, May 13, 7:00 p.m.

  • Evergrey and Seven Kingdoms

    Sunday, May 14, 7:00 p.m.

  • Iron Maidens, Symbolic, Seventrain

    Saturday, May 20, 7:00 p.m.

  • Taake

    Friday, May 26, 8:00 p.m.

  • Xandria and Kobra & the Lotus

    Saturday, May 27, 8:00 p.m.

  • Graves at Sea

    Tuesday, June 6, 8:00 p.m.

  • Vader and Internal Bleeding

    Wednesday, June 7, 7:00 p.m.

  • Only Theatre of Pain and Gitane Demone Quartet

    Friday, June 9, 8:00 p.m.

  • L.A. Guns, Murder of Five, Rattz

    Saturday, June 10, 7:00 p.m.

  • Hed PE and Albert the Cannibal

    Sunday, June 11, 7:00 p.m.

  • Allison Chains

    Saturday, July 1, 7:00 p.m.

  • Numenorean and Wormwitch

    Monday, July 3, 8:30 p.m.

  • Adrenaline Mob and the Wild

    Saturday, July 8, 7:30 p.m.

  • Last in Line and Taz Taylor

    Saturday, July 15, 7:00 p.m.

  • Damage Inc., Hellbent, Lies N' Roses

    Saturday, August 5, 8:00 p.m.

  • Dark Tranquillity

    Tuesday, October 3, 7:30 p.m.

Share / Tools

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • AddThis
  • Email
  • Pin it

Comments

The closed venue has announced it will reopen, with a slate of upcoming concerts including Corrosion of Conformity, Fuel, the Burning of Rome, PHILM featuring Dave Lombardo, and Drum Wars: An Evening with Vinny & Carmine Appice.

Log in to comment

Skip Ad